🐳 New! Moby v2023.05.26 update

Chime Sharp

aka: C#

[ All ] [ Linux ] [ Macintosh ] [ Nintendo Switch ] [ PlayStation 4 ] [ Windows ] [ Xbox One ]

Critic Reviews 80% add missing review

TrueAchievements (4.5 out of 5) (90%)

With throwback games being all the rage in independent development, many developers have chosen to go the 8/16-bit, pixelated, "ain't this cute?" route to tap into nostalgia while bringing along more modern systems and mechanics. Chime Sharp goes the opposite route; it may look like a modern game, but it feels like an older game in the best ways possible. With its highly accessible gameplay style and a difficult-to-master level of play, Chime Sharp is an easy endorsement for virtually all gamers.

Mar 6th, 2017 · Xbox One · read review

OPNoobs (OPN) (9 out of 10) (90%)

With an amalgamation of beautiful sounds and colors, the aesthetic of Chime Sharp is its most defining attribute, but this puzzle game is much more than just skin-deep. The interesting and challenging gameplay kept my attention, as I had to learn to utilize new shapes and strategies with every level. With the different modes, scores, and levels, Chime Sharp has a very high replay value and doesn’t fall into the usual pitfalls of redundancy, to which other puzzlers are prone. The challenges do get increasingly difficult, but not to the point of unapproachability. Even with the initial hype that started with the announcement and lasted all through development, Chime Sharp does not disappoint.

Aug 2nd, 2016 · Windows · read review

4Players.de (85 out of 100) (85%)

Das Beste an Chime Sharp sind die Situationen, in denen gutes Spielen musikalisch belohnt wird. Immer dann, wenn die von links nach rechts wandernde Tonspur über eines meiner eilig konstruierten Vierecke wabert, gibt es akustische Belohnungen. Je nach Form und Perfektion können das ganz andere Akkorde aus dem aktuellen Thema sein. Erst so nimmt der elektronische Rhythmus über frische Beats richtig Fahrt auf, bis sich die eigentliche Melodie offenbart - und das können erhabene Momente sein.

Jul 20th, 2016 · Windows · read review

4Players.de (85 out of 100) (85%)

Ich habe Chime damals genossen. Und ich habe diesen Musik-Puzzler über viele Jahre immer wieder auf PlayStation 3 gestartet, wenn ich zwischen sphärischen Klängen, treibenden Beats und Tetrisgebastel abschalten wollte. Lasst euch vom spartanischen Artdesign nicht täuschen: Man bekommt je nach der Geometrie im Feld eine andere akustische Resonanz und je perfekter man baut, desto näher kommt man der musikalischen Harmonie des laufenden Stücks! Dieses kreative Spielprinzip mit seinen dynamisch wachsenden Quadern, dem Zeitlimit und vielen Varianten sorgt immer noch für sehr gute Arcade-Unterhaltung. Auch wenn Chime Sharp "nur" eine Weiterentwicklung dieses modernen Klassikers ist, der mehr Varianten, Feinjustierung und Freischaltbares bietet: Freut euch jetzt auch auf PS4 und Xbox One auf fünfzehn abwechslungsreiche Level und vor allem auf ein Who-is-who der elektronischen Musik von Künstlern wie Chipzel bis Symbion Project, die ihre Melodien dynamisch komponiert haben!

Mar 7th, 2017 · Xbox One · read review

4Players.de (85 out of 100) (85%)

Ich habe Chime damals genossen. Und ich habe diesen Musik-Puzzler über viele Jahre immer wieder auf PlayStation 3 gestartet, wenn ich zwischen sphärischen Klängen, treibenden Beats und Tetrisgebastel abschalten wollte. Lasst euch vom spartanischen Artdesign nicht täuschen: Man bekommt je nach der Geometrie im Feld eine andere akustische Resonanz und je perfekter man baut, desto näher kommt man der musikalischen Harmonie des laufenden Stücks! Dieses kreative Spielprinzip mit seinen dynamisch wachsenden Quadern, dem Zeitlimit und vielen Varianten sorgt immer noch für sehr gute Arcade-Unterhaltung. Auch wenn Chime Sharp "nur" eine Weiterentwicklung dieses modernen Klassikers ist, der mehr Varianten, Feinjustierung und Freischaltbares bietet: Freut euch jetzt auch auf PS4 und Xbox One auf fünfzehn abwechslungsreiche Level und vor allem auf ein Who-is-who der elektronischen Musik von Künstlern wie Chipzel bis Symbion Project, die ihre Melodien dynamisch komponiert haben!

Mar 7th, 2017 · PlayStation 4 · read review

Irish Examiner (8 out of 10) (80%)

Chime Sharp is an entertaining and challenging title that requires you to be able to plan ahead and stay calm despite a ticking clock in all facets of the game. It could certainly be more welcoming to newcomers to the series, but if you stick with it you will be handsomely rewarded with some killer tunes and diverse game modes.

Aug 4th, 2016 · Macintosh · read review

Irish Examiner (8 out of 10) (80%)

Chime Sharp is an entertaining and challenging title that requires you to be able to plan ahead and stay calm despite a ticking clock in all facets of the game. It could certainly be more welcoming to newcomers to the series, but if you stick with it you will be handsomely rewarded with some killer tunes and diverse game modes.

Aug 4th, 2016 · Linux · read review

TheSixthAxis (8 out of 10) (80%)

Chime Sharp is a good, fun puzzle game that builds upon the ideas of its predecessors in all the right ways. It’s gorgeous to look at, each level flows with the consistency and rhythm that you’d hope for, and the soundtrack is one of the best in video games. It does get a tad tedious, and there are a few things they certainly could've done a better job explaining, but it’s well worth the ride if you like your puzzle games to be fast and challenging.

Jul 21st, 2016 · Windows · read review

Entertainium ( ) (80%)

Leaderboards act as the main draw, but for me, just sitting back and making music was satisfying enough to keep me coming back. I always like it when games incorporate music into their gameplay, and Chime Sharp’s fantastic blend of puzzle solving and music creation makes for a splendid time.

Aug 8th, 2016 · Windows · read review

Irish Examiner (8 out of 10) (80%)

Chime Sharp is an entertaining and challenging title that requires you to be able to plan ahead and stay calm despite a ticking clock in all facets of the game. It could certainly be more welcoming to newcomers to the series, but if you stick with it you will be handsomely rewarded with some killer tunes and diverse game modes.

Aug 4th, 2016 · Windows · read review

bemanistyle (8 out of 10) (80%)

While the original title might not have held the spotlight for long, Chime Sharp hits all the right notes to make the sequel recommended. It’s a no-brainer for those who liked Chime, and those looking for a new puzzle experience and are willing to put a short amount of time into learning the game will get a solid game experience for about the price of a music CD on a store shelf.

Aug 11th, 2016 · Windows · read review

Video Chums (7.4 out of 10) (74%)

Chime Sharp retains the addictive gameplay of the original yet there are few innovations that make it a worthy sequel. That being said, it's worth adding to your collection for the brilliant soundtrack alone.

Feb 23rd, 2017 · PlayStation 4 · read review

MAN!AC (71 out of 100) (71%)

Stilvolle Tempopuzzelei mit einfach zu verstehendem, aber durchaus kniffligem Grundprinzip und feiner Musik.

Apr 1st, 2017 · Xbox One · read review

Defunct Games (B-) (67%)

Although it's a little unforgiving at times and the best content is locked from the start, Chime Sharp is a worthy follow-up to an underrated puzzle game. I wish the developers would have done more to make the game more accessible to new players, but long-time fans will find a lot to like about this unexpected sequel.

Jul 14th, 2016 · Macintosh · read review

Defunct Games (B-) (67%)

Although it's a little unforgiving at times and the best content is locked from the start, Chime Sharp is a worthy follow-up to an underrated puzzle game. I wish the developers would have done more to make the game more accessible to new players, but long-time fans will find a lot to like about this unexpected sequel.

Jul 14th, 2016 · Windows · read review

Defunct Games (B-) (67%)

Although it's a little unforgiving at times and the best content is locked from the start, Chime Sharp is a worthy follow-up to an underrated puzzle game. I wish the developers would have done more to make the game more accessible to new players, but long-time fans will find a lot to like about this unexpected sequel.

Jul 14th, 2016 · Linux · read review

Player Reviews

No player reviews yet.

Contributors to this Entry

Critic reviews added by Kennyannydenny, Jake AM, Patrick Bregger, firefang9212, A.J. Maciejewski, Omnosto.