­čÉ│ Latest Moby v2023.06.02 update

Donkey Kong

aka: DK, Donkey Kong-e

[ All ] [ Amstrad CPC ] [ Apple II ] [ Arcade ] [ Atari 2600 ] [ Atari 7800 ] [ Atari 8-bit ] [ Coleco Adam ] [ ColecoVision ] [ Commodore 64 ] [ Dedicated handheld ] [ Game Boy Advance ] [ Intellivision ] [ MSX ] [ NES ] [ Nintendo 3DS ] [ Nintendo Switch ] [ PC Booter ] [ TI-99/4A ] [ VIC-20 ] [ Wii ] [ Wii U ] [ ZX Spectrum ]

Critic Reviews 60% add missing review

Fragland.net (81 out of 100) (81%)

Dond├ę esta el tiempo or where is the time that I played a Donkey Kong clone on the Atari 1040ST. I discovered it by accident actually as I was tired of playing Sokoban, Space Invaders or Taito's Arkanoid, I decided to search through Daddy's pile of diskettes to find a new interesting application. Most of them where plain midi files which he used to study the songs in a Qbase-like program. Quite useful to people who want to learn music as that tool allows you to only play the melody so you can accompany it or vice versa. Anyway, soon disks where running out but as I got to the last package, my luck was about to change because in one of those I discovered Donkey Kong.

Jan 11th, 2005 · Game Boy Advance · read review

Game Informer Magazine (8 out of 10) (80%)

However, this version is a copy of the NES iteration, so the little cutscenes, along with the conveyor belt level, are absent. Regardless of the omissions and primitive gameplay, Donkey Kong is pure handheld history, and it's still got that irresistible old-school charm.

Jun 2004 · Game Boy Advance

Pixel-Heroes.de (7 out of 10) (70%)

Donkey Kong ist, auch wenn auf jedem System etwas anders, immer gleichwertig gut und sollte jedem Retrospieler bekannt sein.

Mar 2004 · Game Boy Advance · read review

Kombo.com (6.5 out of 10) (65%)

Donkey Kong is a great game, and a true classic. It is hard to really know how revolutionary this game is without seeing it first hand in the infancy of the Video Game age. Still I don't know how many gamers of today could appreciate its wonderfully original scope and vision. And with Nintendo already releasing it for the Gameboy Advance through the e-reader I feel that this game may be find only collectors and hardcore fans interested in it.

Jun 7th, 2004 · Game Boy Advance · read review

Cheat Code Central (2.5 out of 5) (50%)

Everything about this game is old-school. It's not a very pretty looking game and the sound is equally low quality. At least the controls are responsive. Those used to games with moving backgrounds and 20-plus levels might find this game hard to look at after a few hours. In order to accommodate the GBA screen, the game has been compressed a little. There is a two-player mode that allows you to use the Link cable but it's not necessary since this game can only be played one person at a time. You can just use the same game and shoot for high score which can be saved for posterity if you desire.

2004 · Game Boy Advance · read review

64 Power / big.N / N Games (47 out of 100) (47%)

Bereits auf dem ÔÇťaltenÔÇť Schwarzwei├č-Game Boy gab es ein Remake, welches auf satte 100 Level aufgestockt wurde. In der GBA-Fassung sind nur die urspr├╝nglichen drei (!) ├╝brig geblieben.

Aug 2004 · Game Boy Advance

Jeuxvideo.com (5 out of 20) (25%)

Le principe des Nes Classics est au d├ępart louable. Faire conna├«tre les vieux classiques de la firme, par le biais de son ├ętoile, sa principale source de revenus, la GBA. Mais l'aspect financier reprend vite ses droits. Alors que l'on aurait pu retrouver ces concentr├ęs de l├ęgende avec d'autres softs, ou en bonus, comme M├ętroid, les voil├á vendus seuls, et ├á plus de 20 euros qui plus est. Donkey Kong ├ętait un tr├Ęs bon jeu, qui a fait son temps maintenant, et qui ne devrait pas sortir sans ├¬tre accompagn├ę. La nostalgie peut faire rena├«tre des mythes, mais pas sous cette forme.

Jul 13th, 2004 · Game Boy Advance · read review

Player Reviews

You Can't Go Wrong With Donkey Kong, But....

The Good
(Note: This is for the 2004 "NES Classics" version, not the e-Reader card.)

Donkey Kong remains a timeless classic, as well as the launching point for two of Nintendo's biggest stars: Mario and Donkey Kong. So much has been said about the Donkey Kong arcade game, that it's simply one of gaming's biggest legends. It's a fun game with catchy music, memorable characters, fun animations and lots of challenge. Simply put, the game has stood the test of time, and remains as fun to play now as it was then.

The GBA version also saves your high score, so that's something also to be noted.

The Bad
That said, here lies one of the biggest mysteries the NES ever created: Why, oh why, could the system brought us the "Super Mario Bros." and "Legend of Zelda" series, simply not give us the Pie Factory level? Why is it missing animations and in-between screens? I can understand the older systems like the ColecoVision and Atari 2600, but not the NES. And why am I criticizing the NES version when I am reviewing the GBA version? Because the "NES Classics" version is a straight port of that version.

This means no "How High Can You Go" screens, no opening Donkey Kong climb to the top of the first level, and no Pie Factory. The NES was capable of producing huge, in-depth games. They made a lot of cuts with their flagship title, and this GBA port carries every single glaring flaw. In some ways, I wish Nintendo would have just simply cheated and had given us the full game when they brought it over to the GBA.

The Bottom Line
Again, "Donkey Kong" still remains a lot of fun, but don't expect the complete experience, or you'll be sorely disappointed. The full version is something of a console rarity as it stands as only the original Game Boy remake and the hidden game in "Donkey Kong 64" are the only recent titles to house the full experience.

The GBA version is cheap fun for its $15-$20 price tag, so while it's still recommended to people who want to enjoy the game on the go, but be forewarned as to what you're getting into. "Donkey Kong" enthusiasts, step right up. "Donkey Kong" purists, you have been warned....

by Guy Chapman (1746) on Aug 21st, 2004 · Game Boy Advance

Plus 14 player ratings without reviews

Contributors to this Entry

Critic reviews added by Sciere, Big John WV, Riemann80, Jacob Gens, Wizo, Patrick Bregger, Jeanne.